Palma de Mallorca, Spain

24th and 25th September 2008


 Important Dates
 Past events
 For Authors

  5th European Performance Engineering Workshop - EPEW 2008

********* NEWS***********

  • Proceedings published by Springer as LNCS volume 5261 now online.
  • Registration form, venue information and hotels link added.
  • List of accepted papers added - see programme link.
  • Final camera ready submission is due by 15th July. Authors are asked to follow the instructions on the Springer website. Authors need to send their completed papers and all source files to the volume editors and fax their copyright forms to +44 191 222 8232. The LNCS volume number will be 5261, editors Nigel Thomas and Carlos Juiz.
  • Paper submission now closed. 39 papers have been submitted to EPEW 2008. The programme committee is now busy reviewing papers; the programme will be available after 30th June.
  • We are delighted to announce that Prof Boudewijn Haverkort (University of Twente) and Dr Stephen Gilmore (University of Edinburgh) will give invited presentations at EPEW 2008.
  • The Third International Workshop on Practical Applications of Stochastic Modelling will be co-located with EPEW 2008 on Tuesday 23rd September 2008.

The European Performance Engineering Workshop is an annual event that aims to gather researchers working on all aspects of performance modelling and analysis.

We solicit original papers on performance evaluation techniques for computer and telecommunication systems analysis. Papers on or related to the following topics are particularly welcome.

  • Performance-oriented design and analysis methods
  • Formal modelling paradigms: stochastic process algebra, stochastic Petri nets, stochastic automata networks, Markov chains, queueing theory,...
  • Solution and simplification techniques for Markov processes and non-Markovian stochastic processes
  • Model checking and validation
  • Approximate results for Markov and semi-Markov Processes
  • Simulation techniques and experimental design
  • Benchmarks and benchmark evaluation
  • Performance tools
  • Performance case studies
  • Performability modelling
  • Software performance engineering
  • Performance and power consumption tradeoffs
  • Performance overhead of secure systems
  • New frontiers of performance evaluation/modelling
  • Performance analysis of communication networks, mobile and wireless networks, software systems, distributed systems, system architectures, embedded systems, web-based systems, grid computing,...

Paper submission


Authors are invited to submit papers for the workshop to EasyChair by June 9, 2008. Submissions must be original and should not have been published previously or be under consideration for publication while being evaluated for this workshop. The proceedings will be published in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series.

Papers are to be prepared in LNCS format and must not exceed 15 pages, including figures, tables and references. The first page should contain title, authors’ names and affiliation, and a list of keywords. The papers must be electronically submitted to the conference management system in PDF or PS format.

Important dates:
  • Submission deadline: 31 May 2008
  • Author notification: 30 June 2008
  • Camera-ready copy: 15 July 2008
  • Workshop: 24-25 September 2008

General Chair:
  • Ramón Puigjaner, University of the Balearic Islands (Spain)

Workshop Chairs:
  • Nigel Thomas, Newcastle University (UK)
  • Carlos Juiz, University of the Balearic Islands (Spain)

Local organizers:
  • Bartomeu Serra (chair)
  • Ramon Puigjaner
  • Carlos Juiz
  • Pere P. Sancho
  • Isaac Lera
  • Carlos Guerrero
  • Mehdi Khouja

Programme committee:

  • Jeremy Bradley, Imperial College London (UK)
  • Mario Bravetti, Universitŕ di Bologna (Italy)
  • Lucy Cherkasova, HP Labs (USA)
  • Lucia Cloth, University of Twente (Netherlands)
  • Michel Cukier, University of Maryland (USA)
  • Tadeusz Czachórski, Polish Academy of Sciences, Gliwice (Poland)
  • Jean-Michel Fourneau, Université de Versailles (France)
  • Stephen Gilmore, University of Edinburgh (UK)
  • Armin Heindl, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)
  • Helmut Hlavacs, University of Vienna (Austria)
  • András Horváth, Universitŕ di Torino (Italy)
  • Carlos Juiz, Universitat de les Illes Balears (Spain)
  • Tomáš Kalibera, Purdue University (USA)
  • Helen Karatza, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece)
  • Leila Kloul, Université de Versailles (France)
  • Samuel Kounev, Cambridge University (UK)
  • Fernando López Pelayo, University Castilla-La Mancha (Spain)
  • Aad van Moorsel, Newcastle University (UK)
  • Manuel Núńez Garcia, Universidad Complutense de Madrid (Spain)
  • Ramón Puigjaner, Universitat de les Illes Balears (Spain)
  • Marina Ribaudo University of Genova (Italy)
  • Marco Scarpa, Universitŕ di Messina (Italy)
  • Markus Siegle, Universität der Bundeswehr München (Germany)
  • Mark Squillante, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, NY (USA)
  • Ann Tai, IA Tech, Inc. (USA)
  • Miklós Telek, Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary)
  • Nigel Thomas, Newcastle University (UK)
  • Sabine Wittevrongel, Universiteit Gent (Belgium)
  • Katinka Wolter, Humboldt Universität zu Berlin (Germany)

This page is maintained by Nigel Thomas.